Skip to content

The beginning of it all…

June 2, 2012

Română: Nicolae Tonitza (1886 - 1940) - Mama ş...

I like to write and I have been wanting to do a blog for some time. I really don’t know how to blog but I guess I will learn. I am interested in trying to rid myself of horrible memories and thoughts about my Mother. Notice my blog name, daughter of a strange mother. That is putting it kindly. I really think she may be possessed by some evil entity. I can’t say that out in the world but I really do think that. This is a place where I can speak frankly. I know I  am not alone in having a mean Mother but it is hard to connect to people because claiming that Mothers can be mean is like saying cannibalism is normal. No one gets much support or understanding if they have a mean Mama. Mean Mothers exist though. It needs to be discussed. I am in my 50s and my mean Mama is in her 80’s. There is not a day that I am not haunted by her in one way or another. Maybe writing about it will get her out of my head. I doubt it somehow but that would be nice. It would be a blessing. It is bad enough the stuff she has actually done. Having thoughts of her is awful. I want to erase her from memory.

2 Comments
  1. I have just started following your blog and I know exactly what you mean. It goes against everything society has taught us to say and believe that your mother is mean. None of my friends understand or accept it because they don’t understand it. Everyone’s response is always: your mother loves you, she just doesn’t know how to show it.

    • A kindred spirit!! I am sorry you do get it. Only people who have a mean Mother get it. Thank you for reading my blog. Big hug to you!

Leave a Reply

