Skip to content

Memory #10

June 14, 2012
Sad Little Girl

Sad Little Girl (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was thinking about the time in high school when I was really depressed. Really, really depressed. I am a middle-aged woman so when I was in high school, it was long before help for emotional issues was readily available. It was certainly not a routine thing and it was only for “crazy” people of course. Times have changed for the better in this matter.

My Mother caught me crying one day in my room. I think she was annoyed with me that I wasn’t helping her, or was taking to long to get to kitchen to help her with something. I was my Mother’s servant after all. She didn’t urge me to do homework and she certainly didn’t want me doing anything for fun when there was dinner to be made, dishes to be washed, clothes to be folded, floors to be swept and moped, etc., etc. She came into my room and in her usual sarcastic voice, asked what was wrong with me. I told her I was really sad and I wanted to commit suicide. I really did. I was so depressed. I don’t know why I told her that. It was a mistake of course. She started laughing, hysterically. She laughed and laughed and then she asked me how I planned to kill myself. I told her I was going to take an overdose of aspirin. That made her laugh more. She finally told me I was too stupid to even know how to kill myself.

I have read that aspirin is a way a lot of young people try to take their own lives. It is possible. It is apparently a very slow, agonizing death. I am not 100% sure of this. I am very glad I did not attempt suicide.

The empathy and compassion my Mother gave me was so touching. What a Mother.

2 Comments
  1. What an a-blank.

  2. Thank you for your post.

Leave a Reply

