Skip to content

Positive Experience #6

June 24, 2012

English: Fruit bowl - containing pomegranate, ...

I know this is selfish, but I am so very grateful that my breast cancer was only stage 1 and stage 2 (there were two places). The only reason one place was classified as stage 2 was because it was a large place, about the size of a marble. The other place was about the size of a pea. I was so  scared when I learned I had breast cancer. I learned about it a year ago this month. I had the surgery in August of last year. The cancer had not spread. They did a biopsy of the sentinel lymph node under my arm and there was no sign that it had spread. They got all the cancer in the surgery. I am cancer free. I take an estrogen inhibitor because they found out the cancer I had thrived on estrogen. The little pill is powerful and has hard side effects but I did not have to have chemotherapy or radiation. I can’t express how grateful I am. I am alive. I am cancer free. I did not have to have chemo. Such blessings.

Maybe I can express my gratitude in a way that most people can understand. Losing weight is a hard thing. Most people can relate to carrying extra weight. Well, I am no exception. In the past decade, I gained weight. I learned that extra weight increased the risk of cancer returning.  Also, losing weight would reduce the chance of developing diabetes. Well, out of gratitude and out of concern, I decided I was going to lose weight. In February, I began restricting my calories to 1300 a day. Then I got it down to 1200, the least calories they recommend for weight loss. It is not healthy to eat less than 1200 calories a day. I followed the program on WebMD to chart calories and weight. I have lost 26 pounds! It has been easy. I don’t like exercise and I did not do any exercising for the first few months. Now I walk 1/4 to 1/2  mile a day. That is it. I eat everything I love, but I watch portions and I make healthier choices. I am going to keep losing until I hit a 30 pound loss at least. That cuts the risks of health problems significantly.

I have never been good at weight issues. I have not been overly obese or anything, but I got too big. If you knew me, you would consider it a miracle that I found the will power to lose this weight. It really is because I am so grateful to be alive. That, more than fear of future health problems, is what motivated me.

3 Comments
  1. That is AWESOME! And the natural way you’re incorporating better habits into your lifestyle sounds easier to keep up for the long term.

    For what it’s worth, I don’t think there’s anything selfish about your gratitude at all.

  2. Thank you so much!

  3. Wow congratulations! and Cassandra is right, you are selfish for being thankful your cancer was only stage 1 and 2.

Leave a Reply

